Visit São Vicente de Fora in Lisbon: Everything you need to know

Last updated September 5, 2022

Visit São Vicente de Fora in Lisbon; here is everything you need to know. With more than 100,000 tiles composing more than 200 scenes, Lisbon’s Monastery of Sao Vicente de Fora is the world’s largest collection of Baroque tiles. It also offers one of the best views of Lisbon.

Statue of St. Vincent and Church of Sao Vicente de Fora, Lisbon
Statue of St. Vincent with Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora in background

What will you see at São Vicente de Fora?

You will see the Church (Igreja) de São Vicente de Fora and the Monastery (Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora).

The facade of the church has three doors, above which are three recesses with statues, and above those are three windows.  Bell towers flank the three doors. 

After São Vicente de Fora introduced this look, it was repeated at several other Portuguese churches until the 18th century.

The entry hall of the São Vicente de Fora Monastery in Lisbon
The entry hall of the São Vicente de Fora Monastery

The monastery’s old entry hall with its black and white marble floors, and blue and white azulejo walls that illustrate the reconquest of Portugal was decorated by Dom João V. 

The azulejos tell of Dom Afonso Henriques, the first King of Portugal, the occupation of the Moors, and the construction of the Lisbon Cathedral on the site of their Grand Mosque. 

The São Jorge Castle is rendered not the way it looked during the Moorish occupation but the way it appeared during the 18th century.  

The ceiling of the vestibule is a beautiful fresco painted by the Italian artist Vincenzo Baccarelli. The special perspective that he introduced depicts St. Augustine. 

St. Anthony once lived in the monastery, and it is believed that the Chapel of St. Anthony was built in the same space that was once his cell.

The cistern is the only part of the São Vicente de Fora monastery that remains from the original 12th century structure
The cistern is the only part of the São Vicente de Fora monastery that remains from the original 12th-century structure

There is a cistern was used to collect rainwater.  It is the only remaining part of the original 12th-century structure.

The white-walled cloisters also feature brilliant blue and white azulejo tiles, even on the upper-level balcony.

Vaulted white cloisters with blue and white azulejo glazed tile panels at Lisbon's São Vicente de Fora Monastery
One of two cloisters at the Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora

Throughout the monastery, there are more than 200 blue and white azulejo panels depicting the monks and the history of Lisbon. 

Other panels depict religious themes, while those in the cloisters focus on daily life.  

Some of the tiles illustrate fables from the French fablist Jean de La Fontaine. They were created by artist Policarpo de Oliveira Bernardes between 1740 and 1750.

The staircases at Lisbon's São Vicente de Fora Monastery are decorated with blue and white azulejo tile panels
The staircases are all beautifully decorated with azulejo tile

The São Vicente de Fora Monastery is one of the best places in Lisbon to see azulejo tile.  The other best place to enjoy azulejo in Lisbon is the Museu Nacional do Azulejo.  For more information, see my article, National Tile Museum in Lisbon | A Quick Guide

The sacristy has floor-to-ceiling multi-colored marble walls decorated with floral motifs.

On the second floor, in addition to another 38 azulejo panels, visitors see an archaeological collection, a museum dedicated to the church of Lisbon, and a collection of seashells found all over Portugal.

The rooftop viewing deck has fantastic 360-degree views of Alfama and the river.

Rooftop Terrace, Sao Vicente de Fora, Lisbon
Gerd Eichmann, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

The magnificent building is a striking piece of architecture that points out how rich Portugal, or its royals, and the church were at one time. 

Ironically, it sits in Alfama, which was one of Lisbon’s poorer neighborhoods, with many homes there only getting plumbing at the end of the twentieth century.

Today the building is a royal mausoleum.  It is the pantheon of the House of Bragança. 

The Bragança kings ruled Portugal from 1640 until 1910.

There are 49 members of the royal family buried in the building. 

Tombs that hold kings are marked by gold crowns.

Princess Catherine of Bragança is buried in the monastery.

She became Queen of England in 1662 when she married King Charles II. 

The borough of Queens, NY is named in her honor, and visitors to Lisbon can see a beautiful sculpture dedicated to her near the Vasco da Gama Bridge on the east side of Lisbon. 

The Chapel of the Meninos de Palhavã, with its creepy skull tombs, holds two of the illegitimate sons of King João V.

Tomb of one of the Meninos de Palhavã at Lisbon's São Vicente de Fora Monastery.  The most notable feature of the tomb is the carved human skull on top.
Tombs Of King Carlos and Prince Luiz Filipe of Portugal, Sao Vicente de Fora Monastery, Lisbon
Tombs of Carlos I and Luíz Filipe by Alegna13, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

King Carlos I, and his son, Prince Luís Filipe, were assassinated at Praça do Comércio in 1908 as part of the Republican Revolution.

They lie side-by-side, below a statue of a crying, widowed queen.

His other son, Manuel II, the last King of Portugal, took the throne but was forced to flee the country in 1910. He is also buried within the pantheon.

In addition to the Bragança rulers, many of Lisbon’s bishops are buried in the Pantheon of the Patriarchs.

São Vicente de Fora Monastery also holds a large collection of religious artifacts.

Bejeweled monstrance on display at the Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora in Lisbon
Bejeweled monstrance on display at Lisbon's São Vicente de Fora Monastery
Liturgical items on display in the museum that chronicles the history of the church in Lisbon

History of São Vicente de Fora

During the Siege of Lisbon in 1147 Dom Afonso Henriques vowed that if he was able to defeat the Moors and take Lisbon for Christianity, he would build a monastery and dedicate it to the memory of St. Vincent of Zaragoza. 

Ground was broken n the monastery that same year, just outside of Lisbon’s city walls, hence the name “Fora” which means “outside.”

In 1582, King Felipe II of Spain also became King of Portugal.  His biggest project was reconstructing the São Vicente de Fora Monastery. 

Architects Filippo Terzi, Juan Herrera, and Baltazar Álvarez designed the building. Herrera also designed the Escorial in Spain. 

São Vicente de Fora was the first Mannerist style building in Portugal, but would be the prototype for later churches and monasteries around the country.

The artistic treasures – azulejo tile, painting, sculpture, were not added until the 17th and 18th centuries, under the reigns of Dom Pedro II and Dom João V.

The building was largely damaged in the 1755 earthquake.  The monastery originally had a dome, which was not rebuilt.

The monastery was operated by the monks of the Order of St. Augustine until 1834. 

In that year, all of the religious orders in Portugal were forced to disband and give up their property. 

The Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora was then turned into a burial tomb for the kings of the Bragança House.

Tombs of the Bragança kings are each topped by a crown in the burial vault at Lisbon's São Vicente de Fora Monastery
The tombs of kings are topped with crowns

How to get to São Vicente de Fora

Looking up at the belltowers of the São Vicente de Fora Church from a bench in the monastery's entrance courtyard
Looking up at the belltowers of the São Vicente de Fora Church from a bench in the monastery’s entrance courtyard

The church and monastery are located at Largo de São Vicente in Alfama.

GPS coordinates:   38.715075935095776, -9.12780030593686

Take Tram 28 and get off at Largo da Graça.  Follow the signs to Sao Vicente de Fora. 

If you visit on a Tuesday or a Saturday, you can also go to the Thieves’ Market (Feira da Ladra) – a flea market that is held behind the church.

Bus 734 from Martim Moniz Square

Some parking is available at Largo de São Vicente and Campo de Santa Clara.


Closed Mondays verify.  Open Tuesday – Sunday, 10 am – 6 pm (last entry 5 pm)

Closed January 1, Good Friday, Easter, May 1, December 25


It is free to enter the church, but make sure you pay the €5 to enter the monastery, the cloisters, the crypt, the cistern, and explore the rooftop.

Children 12 and under are free.  Ages 65 and over are free.

The São Vicente de Fora Monastery provides 90-minute guided tours in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.  There is a €2 charge per person, and you must register in advance at Guided Tours – Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora (

What’s Nearby?

Thank you for reading. I am not affiliated with any businesses mentioned in this article.